Jos Museum is a museum in Jos, Nigeria. The museum was established in 1952 by Bernard Fagg and was originally the National Museum. It is an important centre of research into the prehistoric culture of Nigeria, and was recognized as one of the best in the country but fell into ruin. The Pottery Hall in the museum has an exceptional collection of finely crafted pottery from all over Nigeria. The museum boasts some fine specimens of Nok terracotta heads and artifacts dating from between 500 BC to AD 200. It also incorporates the Museum of Traditional Nigerian Architecture with life-size replicas of a variety of buildings, from the walls of Kano and the Mosque at Zaria to a Tiv village. Articles of interest from colonial times relating to the railway and tin mining can also be found on display. A School for Museum Technicians is attached to the museum, established with the help of UNESCO. The Jos Museum is also located beside the zoo.
The National Museum in Jos was commissioned in 1952 by Bernard Fagg, a British archaeologist and museum curator, and is recognised as one of the best museums in the country. It has one large exhibition hall and two smaller ones. The museum is renowned for its archaeology and its Pottery Hall has an exceptional collection of finely crafted clay artworks from all over Nigeria. It is Nigeria’s first major museum of antiquities and the second museum established in the country (after the one in Esie, near Ilorin). The museum is home to some fine specimens of Nok terracotta heads and artefacts dating from between 500 BC and 200 AD.